Virgil van Dijk has won the PFA Player of the Year award. He is the first defender to win the award since Chelsea’s John Terry back in 2005. The award is indeed rarely won by a defender. Most of the times, the most voted is a forwarder. The Liverpool defender beating Manchester City’s Raheem Sterling and Chelsea’s Eden Hazard to the prize.
He deserves the award. No one will ever question the result as he helped Liverpool pass through the second half of the season with his impressive contribution. Not to mention he’s just joined Liverpool in the last winter transfer window. The Netherlands international player joined from Southampton for 75 million euro last January. And has since helped the club to establish the best defensive record in the Premier League.
They are now second in Premier League just 1 point behind Manchester City who’s on the top of Premier League table. Those two clubs were on the top alternately. The 27-year-old player contributions so far are worth the price. mobile live casino Malaysia has noticed Virgil van Dijk is the second consecutive Liverpool player to win the award. In the previous season, their forward Mohamed Salah was crowned as Player of the Year.
Virgil van Dijk said he thought the highest honor a player can get is to get voted as PLayer of the Year by the players he plays against every week. Therefore he thinks the honor is really special and he’s very proud and honored to win the award.

Juergen Klopp Said Van Dijk Deserves The Award

Coincidentally, earlier this month, Juergen Klopp said he felt the defender would be a worthy winner for the award. The Germany manager stated Virgil van Dijk has an outstanding season and he deserves the award. The Germany manager stated Virgil van Dijk has an outstanding season and he deserves the award.
Juergen Klopp also points out last year award, when Mohamed Salah won the prize while Liverpool’s other player Kevin De Bruyne also nominated but failed to win the prize. He explained that last year he thinks Kevin De Bruyne also deserve the award. Not that they’re unhappy with his loss, but he thinks Kevin De Bruyne also deserves the award as well.
And that’s happened again this year as Sadio Mane also listed as one of the nominations for the award. Juergen Klopp claimed, he thinks Sadio Mane deserve the award as well.
Other than Player of the Year award, PFA also named several players with a different award. There was Raheem Sterling who won The Young Player of the Year Award. Meanwhile, Vivianne Miedema was voted as Women’s player of the Year and Georgia Stanway was voted as Women’s Young Player of the Year.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here